Elections to the Board

About the Board 

The Board of Directors is the leadership body of the International Association of Facilitators (IAF). Directors serve in a voluntary capacity and oversee the Association's operations and strategic initiatives. The key responsibilities and duties are explained in the general role description for all Directors. 

The Board consists of 16 members, whose two year terms are staggered so that approximately half of the Board positions come to term each year. Directors elected in October in any year  begin their terms in January .

Nomination Procedures

Each year a Nominating Commitee of IAF members oversees the elections to the Board.

The 2019 Nominating Committee is:

  • Bill Staples, Canada
  • Ronit Andorn-Broza, Canada
  • Noel Tan, Asia
  • Michelle Rush, Oceania
  • Toney Olton, Latin America and Caribbean

All IAF members are invited to nominate themselves or other members to stand as candidates. As a volunteer-led Association our success depends on the time and energy given by our members. 

  • Candidates complete a Candidate Information Form submitted with a current résumé or curriculum vitae, to the Nominations Committee, along with references. The election are held through an online anonymous election in October.

Election 2019 Coming Soon

  •  IAF always has excellent candidates and often competitions for key positions. This generates thoughtful consideration among members for the new IAF leadership team to be elected in fall of 2019.   Keep watching for announcements.

The IAF election in October 2019 will select:

  • Board Secretary
  • Director of Conferences
  • Director of Marketing
  • Director of Communications
  • Regional Director for Europe and the Middle East (EME)
  • Regional Director for Canada
  • Regional Director for Asia
  • Regional Director for Latin America and Caribbean

Visit this page on August 30, 2019 for instructions on how to nominate or be nominated!


The Elections Process

Directors are elected by the Association's membership by means of an electronic vote. All members in good standing receive an email with a unique link to the elections platform in early October. 

The process adhered to the policies and procedures described in the IAF Bylaws.

For more information about this year's nominations or elections, please contact the 2019 Nominating Committee at elections2019@iaf-world.org.